Talbot County Implements Burn Ban Effective June 21, 2024


Category: Emergency Services County Council

Ban Burn (2)

The Talbot County Council has enacted an Administrative Resolution imposing a complete ban on all open-air burning throughout the county. This burn ban will take effect on Friday, June 21, 2024, at 2:00 p.m. and will remain in place for 30 days, expiring on Sunday, July 21, 2024 unless extended or terminated by a subsequent resolution.

“The County is experiencing abnormally dry conditions with the potential for flash drought conditions,” said Easton Volunteer Fire Department Chief Sonny Jones. “Upcoming temperatures are expected to reach the mid- to upper 90s, with heat indices between 100 and 105 degrees, placing severe stress on firefighters and available resources.”

Pursuant to § 119-6(A) of the Talbot County Code, the County Council has the authority to impose a burning ban based on the affirmative recommendation and finding of the Burn Ban Committee that prolonged or unusual conditions conducive to the easy start and spread of fire exist.

Under the terms of the burn ban:

  • No person may allow, permit, cause, start, or continue any open-air burning during the time period
    “Open-air burning” means burning any material in the open or in a receptacle other than a furnace, incinerator, or other equipment connected to a stack or chimney, including use of fireworks, sparklers, or sparkling devices, excepting lawfully permitted municipal fireworks displays
  • During a burn ban, public officers have permission to enter public or private property to extinguish a fire, and may confiscate any unused fireworks, sparklers, or sparkling devices.
  • Residents are urged to comply with the burn ban to ensure public safety, conserve firefighting resources, and protect property from the increased risk of fire. Non-compliance may result in enforcement actions by designated public officers.

For further information go to talbotcountymd.gov/burnban or contact Emergency Services at 410-822-0095.

burn ban emergency services council


Page last modified Friday, May 3, 2024 11:38:20 AM